Understanding the narrowing road, Part 3: Opportunities

I do not believe every person who reaches age 75 or more experiences the sudden reality that he or she has become old, finished, done with life as I did. Nonetheless, many do, and it is an altogether difficult circumstance.

It is painfully depressing in every way to suddenly recognize there is no longer enough time to set lofty goals, reach for new professional heights, begin new projects. Now, I’m not a physician or psychologist, however, I know it is not sufficient to be told to find new avenues or turn to one’s religious faith.

If you have been quite active in community affairs, you are already involved in volunteer work, you’re a joiner, contributing to the social welfare of your community. Adding more volunteerism to your schedule will do little more than complicate your life. Bare in mind, depression may have already pushed you to the limit of mental endurance.

So, what do you do?

I have found looking for new opportunities with an expanded list of new friends is more than helpful. Furthermore, I avoid spending all my free time with other “senior citizens”. Expanding my daily exposure to some who are perhaps 20 years my junior provides me with ample opportunity to offer friendly guidance based upon my seven decades on earth. You would be surprised the number of folks who are anxious to be helped by your experience and proven track record.

Additionally, it is helpful to examine yourself. Perhaps there are dormant talents you can again put into play in your everyday life, things you used to enjoy but have allowed to slip out of your life. Variety of opportunity is important. Stay out of a rut. Actively grow your own opportunities without regard to time.

Of course, it must be said, your religious faith continues to be an important daily routine. Finding solace is easier and more rewarding when you are in a personal relationship with Almighty God. — D. C. ‘Dan’ Lee

“Today is not just another day, it’s a new opportunity, a new chance, a new beginning. Embrace it.”

MP900384906

