Think about all those moments, good and sad, that have ticked by…

There is no guarantee in this life just when it will end. From the very instant of our birth, each one of us is dying. It is only a matter of time. What we do with that time is critical.

Now, after sitting on this planet for more than 76 years, I know full well the party may end at any moment. It is up to me to do the most with what I have left, however long that will be. As one comes to the end, “the days grow short, when you reach September… And, you haven’t got time, for the waiting game. The days dwindle down to a precious few…”

Unfortunately, there are days when I can only see the bad, the drab, the dreary–rudeness, discourtesy, loss of our liberties at the hands of our very government. I have to tell you, it is heartwrenching for this Old Man. When you hear someone say, “Now, in the good old days…”, believe it. While I recognize it is only a matter of one’s perspective (and age), the “good old days” really were the good old days–simpler, more comfortable.

Years ago it was not necessary to erect a fence around your home, install double-lock doors and windows, or keep a firearm in the house. Now, all of these are necessities. Alarm companies do a brisk business in a new subdivision. There are more of us crammed into smaller spaces of this land. Every first year psychology student knows what that means to the rats in a box becoming increasingly smaller.

It’s the simple things that point to the degradation of our American society: Men wear their hats indoors, women dress like men, or show nearly everything they have. If chivilry isn’t dead, it’s unconscious. Men, in general, no longer have much respect for women, and fewer women deserve that respect. So many in our society do their thinking below the waist; promiscuity is rampant.

As one grows older–at least in my case–the mind still believes I’m 35, but the body disagrees, often violently.

Now, make no mistake, I’ve been fortunate and am grateful to God for my 76 years. It is what will follow my time that is my greatest worry. What lies ahead for my grandchildren and their children?

A joy in my life, among many, is that a Jewish carpenter died to wash away my sins. — D C ‘Dan’ Lee

jesus-christ-pics-2006-150x150

