What Libertarian?

Over the years in casual conversation, when I indicate I’m a Conservative, someone usually asks, “Are you a Libertarian?”. The fact is, you can be a Conservative and not a Libertarian… that’s me. But, here’s what Merriam-Webster Dictionary says:

“Libertarianism: 1: an advocate of the doctrine of free will; 2 a: a person who upholds the principles of individual liberty, especially of thought and action; b capitalized: a member of a political party advocating libertarian principles. ‘

“Conservatism: a political philosophy based on tradition and social stability, stressing established institutions, and preferring gradual development to abrupt change; specifically : such a philosophy calling for lower taxes, limited government regulation of business and investing, a strong national defense, and individual financial responsibility for personal needs (as retirement income or health-care coverage)”

So, what are you and what am I. In my mind it is quite easy to combine the above two definitions for an over-all philosophy embracing either. I differ with most Libertarians in foreign policy. In this age of split second satellite communications, intercontinental ballistic missiles, and travel, strong associations with other countries is a must, and that includes a military presence. Libertarians, in general terms, lean more toward isolation. I prefer “peace through strength”.

Without question, lower taxes, smaller government, balanced budgets, no deficit spending, and less government intrusion into the lives of individuals is certainly on my list. If one takes a bit of time and thinks about it, it is difficult to come up with any subject or activity of life in which a local, state, or the federal government is not involved. Think about it…how and what you eat, where you eat, where you drive, how you work, what you wear, regulations how your business operates, income you can earn, what religious symbols you can display, and when you can post a sign in behalf of a political candidate. The lengthy list goes on and on.

I consider myself an evangelical, born again, Christian. As a boy, a Methodist, switching to the Presbyterian Church as a youth, and, much later, to the Missionary Church. As a Christian, I believe in Jesus Christ and the forgiveness of sins; but, I also believe, because Jesus was a Jew, I have a very personal connection with the Jewish people. It all makes perfect sense to me. I’ve previously written, I believe the human spirit needs some kind of religion to hold onto, a foundation for moral standards. Even Atheists, who believe there is no deity, actually believe in something. It is also my view, if you have a love of music of all kinds, your connection is solid. Music is the adhesive binding the human spirit to the Almighty.

With all the intrusions we have allowed our governments to undertake, America is still the nation of choice. Our Representative Government, rather than a pure democracy, in a few short years has surpassed every other governmental idea since the dawn of man. It behooves us to retain and maintain what our Founding Fathers so carefully crafted in our Declaration of Independence and Constitution.

Image

